Is there free salon booking software in the UK?
Yes, you can run a UK salon on free booking software. We found 10 free plans on 2 November 2026. The ones that come closest to a full system are Slotora, which lists deposits, no-show fees and forms at £0, and Slotivo, which is free for one or two people with up to 5 services. Square Appointments’ Free plan has no staff limit but needs a paid plan for no-show fees. Every free plan has a limit somewhere, and which one matters depends on how you work.
We make Covered Beauty, which isn’t free. It’s £9 a month after a 7-day trial. We’ve written this because you’ll compare free plans anyway, and most guides don’t say what’s missing. Everything below comes from each provider’s own page. We haven’t tested them all hands-on, and there are no affiliate links on this page.
Which free plans are there?
Sorted by how close each gets to a full salon system, going by what its own page says. That’s our reading of their pages, not a test of each one.
| Plan | Who it’s for | Deposits | No-show fees | Forms | Reminders | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SlotoraSource: Slotora pricing, checked 2 November 2026 | One person, or a team of 2 to 15 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Email free. Texts 4 credits each, about 7p to 8p, from prepaid credits | A Powered by Slotora line stays at the foot of your booking page |
| Slotivo FreeSource: Slotivo pricing, checked 2 November 2026 | 1 or 2 people | Yes | Yes | Yes | Email only | Up to 5 services, and add-ons count as services |
| Book in BeautifulSource: Book in Beautiful pricing, checked 2 November 2026 | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Email, and texts for online bookings | Your clients pay a booking charge, £1.50 on a £20 booking in its example |
| Square AppointmentsSource: Square Appointments UK pricing, checked 2 November 2026 | No staff limit, one location | Yes, prepayments | No, needs Plus at £29 | Contracts | Email and text | No waitlist or processing time, which come with Plus |
| SumUp BookingsSource: SumUp Bookings UK, checked 2 November 2026 | One calendar | Payment in full at booking. Deposits need POS Plus | No, needs POS Plus at £39 a month | Not stated | Email only | One calendar |
| Goldie StarterSource: Goldie pricing, checked 2 November 2026 | One user | Yes | No, needs Pro | No, needs Pro Plus | You send them by hand | 20 appointments a month, and paid plans are in US dollars |
| SimplyBook.meSource: SimplyBook.me pricing, checked 2 November 2026 | One provider | No, needs Basic | Not stated | One custom feature, such as intake forms | Not stated | 50 bookings a month |
| SetmoreSource: Setmore pricing, checked 2 November 2026 | Up to 4 users | No, listed on Pro | Not stated | Not stated | Email only | A general diary, not made for salons, and paid plans are in US dollars |
| SlotorySource: Slotory pricing, checked 2 November 2026 | One person | No, needs Pro at £14 | Not stated | Not stated | Email confirmations | Up to 5 services |
| BookuroSource: Bookuro, checked 2 November 2026 | Up to 10 staff | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Free while it launches, then £30 a month |
“Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on the page, not that it’s missing.
What’s the catch with free booking software?
There are four, and most free plans have at least one.
A limit on services. Slotivo and Slotory both stop at 5 services on their free plans. That sounds like plenty until you count. Of the 15 salons that have set up a menu on Covered Beauty, 14 have more than five treatments switched on, and the middle salon has 19. A nail tech with gel, BIAB, acrylics, infills, removals and nail art is past five before she’s added anything else.
A limit on bookings. Goldie’s Starter plan stops at 20 appointments a month, and SimplyBook.me’s free plan at 50. That’s fine for a side business and tight for a full week.
No way to charge for a no-show. Square and SumUp both take money upfront on their free plans, but keep no-show and cancellation fees for paid plans. If no-shows are why you’re looking, check this first.
Someone else pays. Book in Beautiful’s free plan puts a booking charge on your client instead of on you. In its own example that’s £1.50 on a £20 booking. You keep your full price, and your client sees an extra charge at checkout. That suits some salons and not others.
Sources: each provider’s page, linked in the table, checked 2 November 2026. Our salon figures are a count of the treatments switched on at each salon with any, on 3 November 2026. It’s a small sample, so take it as a guide.
What does a free plan really cost?
Card fees still apply. Here’s one month at 60 bookings of £40, with every booking paid online, and then with only a £10 deposit paid online. We haven’t added VAT to the card fees, as these pages don’t say it’s charged on them.
| Plan | Monthly fee | Full price paid online | £10 deposit paid online |
|---|---|---|---|
| Slotivo Free, on StripeStripe’s 1.5% + 20p | £0 | £48 | £21 |
| Square Appointments FreeSquare’s 1.4% + 25p | £0 | £48.60 | £23.40 |
| SumUp Bookings FreeSumUp’s 2.5% | £0 | £60 | Deposits need POS Plus |
| Covered Beauty Solo, on StripeStripe’s 1.5% + 20p | £9 | £57 | £30 |
So if you take full payment online, SumUp’s free plan, at £60, costs more than Covered Beauty’s Solo plan at £57. If you only take small deposits, the free plans on Stripe or Square cost less than our Solo plan.
Sources: Stripe UK pricing, checked 24 October 2026, Square Appointments UK pricing and SumUp UK online payments, checked 26 October 2026, and Slotivo pricing and SumUp Bookings UK, checked 2 November 2026.
Which free plan should I use?
- You work alone and don’t want to pay anything. Start with Slotora or Slotivo Free, and count your treatments before you pick Slotivo.
- You’re just starting and only see a few clients a week. Almost any of them will do. Pick one that lets you take deposits, as that’s the habit worth starting early. Our checklist for newly qualified techs covers what else you need.
- You already take card payments with Square or SumUp. Stay with what you’ve got and add its bookings. Having everything in one app is worth more than a few pence.
- You’re leaving Fresha or Booksy to save money. Check what you’d lose first. Marketplace clients stop, and you’ll want your client list out before you cancel. Our guides to what Fresha costs and Booksy alternatives go through it.
- You run a team. Slotora and Square have no staff charge. Our guide to booking apps for a small salon team compares what 2 to 5 people pay.
When is it worth paying?
When a paid plan saves you more than it costs. For most people that comes down to three things.
- Texts. Clients read a text. If you’d rather not buy credits or rely on email, a plan with texts included is simpler. Covered Beauty’s Solo plan has 50 a month.
- Your menu. If you’ve got more than 5 treatments, a plan with a 5 service cap won’t fit, and the next step up is £10 at Slotivo or £14 at Slotory.
- No-shows. One no-show at £40 costs more than 4 months of a £9 plan.
Covered Beauty is £9 a month for one person, with unlimited bookings and treatments, card deposits and no-show fees on your own Stripe account, consent forms and 50 texts a month. There’s no commission, and you get 7 days free with no card. Slotivo’s £10 plan and SalonBooking’s £9 plan are close to it, so compare all three in UK booking app prices, cheapest first.
Like Slotora’s free plan, our Solo plan keeps a small Covered Beauty line at the foot of your booking page, with our mark at the top. Pro, at £14 a month, puts your own logo at the top and takes the line off once you’ve made your first plan payment.
Questions about free booking software
Is there free salon booking software in the UK?
Yes, you can run a UK salon on free booking software. We found 10 free plans on 2 November 2026. The ones that come closest to a full system are Slotora, which lists deposits, no-show fees and forms at £0, and Slotivo, which is free for one or two people with up to 5 services. Square Appointments’ Free plan has no staff limit but needs a paid plan for no-show fees. Every free plan has a limit somewhere, and which one matters depends on how you work.
What is the best free booking system for a UK salon?
There isn’t one that suits everyone. Going by their own pages, Slotora lists the most at £0, Slotivo Free suits one or two people with a short menu, and Square Appointments Free suits anyone already using Square.
Is there a free booking app that takes deposits?
Yes. Slotora, Slotivo, Book in Beautiful, Square Appointments and Goldie all list deposits or prepayments on their free plans, and SumUp Bookings takes the full price at booking. Card fees still apply.
Is Fresha free?
No. Its UK plans start at £14.95 a month before VAT for one person, and it takes a fee on new marketplace clients.
Is there a free booking app for nail techs?
Yes, but count your treatments first. Nail menus often run past the 5 service limit on Slotivo Free and Slotory.
Is Covered Beauty free?
No. It’s free for 7 days with no card, then from £9 a month.
Fresha’s figure is from its UK pricing page, checked 2 November 2026. Spotted something out of date, or run one of these and want your row changed? Email hello@covered.technology and we’ll check it and change it.
What else should you read?
Cheapest salon booking software in the UK (2026)
A month of bookings for a solo tech, costed nine ways: the subscription, marketplace fees and card fees added up, and when a free plan wins.
Read the guideIs Fresha free? What it costs a UK salon in 2026
What Fresha costs a UK salon today, with VAT, what it takes on new clients and what’s still free.
Read the guideBooking apps with no commission (UK)
Which booking apps take a cut, on which clients, and how to keep the clients you found yourself free of fees.
Read the guide