Skip to content

The best consultation form apps
for UK beauty businesses.

Form builders, consent apps, clinic software and booking systems with forms, compared on what they cost, getting forms signed before the client arrives and keeping them with the client. We make Covered Beauty, so it’s on the list. Everything about the others links to where they publish it.

What is the best consultation form app for a UK beauty business?

There isn’t one best consultation form app for every UK beauty business. It depends on whether you want forms on their own or inside a booking system, and whether you run a clinic. If you want clients to sign on their own phone before they arrive, with the signed form kept on their record, with or without a booking, Covered Beauty, which we make, does that for £9 a month. If you only need a few forms and don’t mind building them, Jotform, Typeform and Paperform have free plans. For aesthetics clinics, Faces is free and says it has over 200 insurance-verified consent forms, and Pabau is a full clinic system priced through a demo. Already on Fresha or Timely? Fresha has forms on both its plans, and Timely on its Boost and Thrive plans.

Who wrote this

Dean Hodgson, founder of Covered Beauty. This page is written by the people who make Covered Beauty. We’ve included it because it’s the one we know best, and we’ve said plainly where another app is the better choice. There are no affiliate links on this page.

How did we compare them?

We looked at what a consultation form has to do for a beauty business, using what each provider publishes about itself. This isn’t a hands-on test of every app, and we haven’t given scores.

  1. What it costs. The price as each provider shows it, with VAT where it says.
  2. Kept with the client record. Whether a signed form sits with the client and their visits, or somewhere of its own.
  3. Signed before the visit. Whether clients can fill it in and sign before they’re in your chair.
  4. Forms without a booking. Whether you can send a form to someone who hasn’t booked, such as a new client asking about a treatment.
  5. Returning clients and patch tests. What a regular is asked next time, and whether a patch test question is asked again.
  6. Who it’s made for. A form builder for any business, or a tool made for beauty, aesthetics or clinics.

How do the consultation form apps compare?

Ten ways to do consultation forms side by side, checked 24 October 2026. On a phone, swipe the table sideways and the names stay put.

Prices, signing and keeping forms, as each provider publishes them
AppPriceKept with the client recordSigned before the visitForms without a bookingReturning clients and patch testsWho it suits
Covered BeautyOurs. See how forms workSolo: £9/month. Salon: £19/month for up to five. Forms on bothYes. Each signed form lands on the client’s record, to print or save as a PDFYes. It goes out with the booking confirmation, with a reminder 48 hours before if it isn’t doneYes. A private link with up to 10 forms that works for 14 days, or Hand to client on your tabletWith a booking, a client who filled in the same form in the last 6 months can confirm nothing’s changed. Patch test questions are asked again every timeUK beauty and aesthetics businesses of up to five people who want forms on their own, or with online booking and deposits
JotformSource: Jotform pricing and Jotform consent form templates, checked 24 October 2026Starter: free for 5 active forms and 100 submissions a month. Bronze: £29/month, or £24/month billed yearlyKept as submissions in your Jotform account. Starter stores 500Clients fill it in online. Starter includes 10 signed documents a monthYes. It’s a form builder, so a form doesn’t need a bookingNot statedAnyone happy to build their own forms, with consent form templates among many others
TypeformSource: Typeform pricing, checked 24 October 2026Free plan with a limited number of responses. Basic: £30/month, or £21/month billed yearly, for 100 responses a monthKept as responses in your Typeform accountClients fill it in onlineYes. It’s a form builder, so a form doesn’t need a bookingNot statedBusinesses that want polished forms and surveys for lots of uses, not only consultations
PaperformSource: Paperform pricing and Paperform facial consent form template, checked 24 October 2026Free: 30 submissions a month. Pro: $59/month, or $49/month billed yearly. US dollars, before sales taxKept as submissions in your Paperform accountClients fill it in online. A signature field is on every planYes. It’s a form builder, so a form doesn’t need a bookingNot statedBusinesses that want forms, payments and e-signatures in one tool, and don’t mind paying in US dollars
FacesSource: Faces, checked 24 October 2026Free to use, no card neededConsent forms are managed in its booking system, with your clients and bookingsPre-appointment consent is listedNot statedNot statedAesthetics clinics and healthcare practices that want 200+ insurance-verified consent forms, with prescribers and pharmacies in the same place
Insync ConsentSource: Insync Consent on the App Store, checked 24 October 2026Free on the App StoreA client directory sits alongside the formsNot statedNot statedNot statedBeauty and aesthetics practitioners who want insurer-approved consent forms and aftercare on an iPad
PabauSource: Pabau pricing, checked 24 October 2026Not published. Priced by the number of users and where you are, through a demoForms, documents and photos with digital records, on every planNot statedNot statedNot statedClinics that want a full practice system, with ePrescribe and photo comparison among its features
FormDrSource: FormDr pricing and FormDr UK office announcement, checked 24 October 2026Price on request. Fees in US dollars, before taxNot statedYes. Patients complete and sign on their phone, tablet or computer before appointmentsNot statedNot statedMedical and healthcare practices that want patient intake forms. Its UK announcement names fitness centres and med spas too
FreshaSource: Fresha UK pricing and Fresha: create a client form, checked 24 October 2026Independent: £14.95/month. Team: £9.95 per team member a month. Both excluding VAT, with forms on bothForms can be added to a client’s profile, and client details given on a form update itYes. Added automatically for the services you choose and sent, for example, straight after bookingNot statedYou choose every appointment or once within a set time, and can pre-fill previous answers. Patch tests are listed among its featuresSalons that want a marketplace to bring in new clients, with forms in the same system
TimelySource: Timely pricing and Timely: manually send consultation forms, checked 24 October 2026Boost, with digital consultation forms: from £7 a week. The price changes with your bookingsSent from the client’s profile, and you can see whether they’ve filled it inYes. Sent by hand, or automatically on its Thrive plan, from £9 a weekSent by hand from the client’s profile, by text or emailNot statedSalons, spas and clinics with a team that want forms inside a full booking system with unlimited staff

Each provider’s details come from the pages linked in its row, read on the day shown. Jotform, Typeform, Fresha and Timely showed their prices in pounds when we read them from the UK. Paperform and FormDr publish theirs in US dollars. Where a page doesn’t say whether VAT is included, we haven’t guessed, and where it doesn’t say something at all, the table says ‘Not stated’. That doesn’t mean they can’t, so ask them. Covered Beauty’s prices are the monthly subscriptions in our pricing section.

Which kind of form app do you need?

Start with where you want the forms to live and who fills them in. Then try the one or two that fit with a real form for your most common treatment.

Forms on their own, kept with each client

Most beauty businesses don’t need a form builder. They need the right questions asked before every treatment, signed before the client arrives, and kept where they can find them. You can use Covered Beauty just for forms: pick from 23 ready-made forms, send a private link or hand over your tablet, and the signed form lands on the client’s record. You don’t need treatments, opening hours or bookings set up. When you want clients to book online and pay a deposit, it’s there on the same plan.

Each ready-made form is a starting point to read through and make your own. You can also build your own from short text, long text, dates, yes or no questions, tick boxes and information text. See how online consultation forms work.

You’d rather build your own

Jotform, Typeform and Paperform are form builders for every kind of business. Each has a free plan, and Jotform and Paperform have consent form templates to start from. Answers are kept in your account with that tool, not in your diary, unless you connect the two through their integrations. Paperform prices in US dollars. Their prices and limits are in the table above.

Sources: Jotform pricing, Jotform consent form templates, Typeform pricing, Paperform pricing and Paperform facial consent form template, checked 24 October 2026.

You run an aesthetics clinic

Faces is free to use and built for aesthetic clinics and healthcare practices, with over 200 insurance-verified consent forms in its booking system, and prescribers and pharmacies in the same place. Insync Consent is a free iPad app with insurer-approved treatment consent forms and aftercare. Pabau is a full practice system with digital records, photos and ePrescribe, priced by the number of users through a demo. FormDr, an online forms platform for medical practices that opened a London office in 2023, prices on request in US dollars.

Sources: Faces, Insync Consent on the App Store, Pabau pricing, FormDr pricing and FormDr UK office announcement, checked 24 October 2026.

Covered Beauty records the product, batch number and expiry used at each visit, but it doesn’t do before-and-after photos or prescribing. Read booking software for aesthetics clinics.

You already use a booking system

Check the forms you already pay for first. Fresha has consultation forms and patch tests on both its plans, and its forms can go out automatically for the services you choose or be added to a client’s profile. Timely’s digital consultation forms come with its Boost plan, and automated ones with Thrive. If you’re thinking of moving, read the best salon booking software in the UK.

Sources: Fresha UK pricing, Fresha: create a client form, Timely pricing and Timely: manually send consultation forms, checked 24 October 2026.

What is each one best for?

In the same order as the table. The order isn’t a ranking.

Covered Beauty

Online booking software for UK beauty businesses, with consultation and consent forms on both plans and 23 ready-made forms to start from. Clients sign on their own phone or on your tablet, with or without a booking. Forms are signed with a typed name, and the ready-made forms aren’t approved by an insurer, so check them against what yours asks for.

Best for: UK beauty and aesthetics businesses of up to five people who want forms on their own, or with online booking and deposits.

Look elsewhere if: You need drawn signatures, photos inside a form or consent wording already approved by an insurer, or your team is bigger than five.

See what each plan includes

Jotform

A form builder for every kind of business, with a gallery of free consent form templates. Paid plans raise the limits on forms, submissions and signed documents, and its free Starter plan puts Jotform branding on your forms.

Best for: Anyone happy to build their own forms, with consent form templates among many others.

Look elsewhere if: You’d rather not build and look after the forms yourself.

Sources: Jotform pricing and Jotform consent form templates, checked 24 October 2026.

Typeform

A form and survey builder. Its Basic plan lists unlimited forms, conditional logic, and webhooks and integrations for one user, and there’s a free plan to try it.

Best for: Businesses that want polished forms and surveys for lots of uses, not only consultations.

Look elsewhere if: You’d rather not build the forms yourself, or you’ll need more than Basic’s 100 responses a month.

Source: Typeform pricing, checked 24 October 2026.

Paperform

A form builder with payments and its own e-signature tool, Papersign, which signs 3 documents a month on the free plan. It has a facial consent form template, and paid plans come with a 7-day free trial with no card needed.

Best for: Businesses that want forms, payments and e-signatures in one tool, and don’t mind paying in US dollars.

Look elsewhere if: You want to pay in pounds, or you need more than 30 submissions a month for free.

Sources: Paperform pricing and Paperform facial consent form template, checked 24 October 2026.

Faces

A free booking and consent system for aesthetics, beauty and clinic businesses. It says it has over 200 insurance-verified consent forms you can customise, and lets clinics find prescribers and buy from pharmacies.

Best for: Aesthetics clinics and healthcare practices that want 200+ insurance-verified consent forms, with prescribers and pharmacies in the same place.

Look elsewhere if: You need to know how forms are signed before you join. Its page doesn’t say, so ask Faces.

Source: Faces, checked 24 October 2026.

Pabau

Practice management software for clinics. Every plan includes scheduling and online booking, a patient portal and digital records, and forms, documents and photos. Its pricing page says plans differ only by the number of users.

Best for: Clinics that want a full practice system, with ePrescribe and photo comparison among its features.

Look elsewhere if: You want to see a price before you book a demo.

Source: Pabau pricing, checked 24 October 2026.

FormDr

An online forms platform for medical and healthcare practices, based in San Francisco. It opened a London office in 2023 and says it’s UK GDPR compliant. Its Core plan lists unlimited forms, documents and signatures, appointment reminders, and text and email invites.

Best for: Medical and healthcare practices that want patient intake forms. Its UK announcement names fitness centres and med spas too.

Look elsewhere if: You want a price in pounds without asking for a quote.

Sources: FormDr pricing and FormDr UK office announcement, checked 24 October 2026.

Fresha

Booking software with a marketplace for clients. Its help centre describes client forms built from templates or from scratch, with signature fields, filled in online before, during or after an appointment, or at the salon.

Best for: Salons that want a marketplace to bring in new clients, with forms in the same system.

Look elsewhere if: You only want consultation forms, not a booking system and marketplace around them.

Sources: Fresha UK pricing and Fresha: create a client form, checked 24 October 2026.

Timely

Booking software for salons, spas and clinics, with unlimited team members on every plan. Digital consultation forms come with Boost and automated ones with Thrive. A form sent by text uses the plan’s text allowance.

Best for: Salons, spas and clinics with a team that want forms inside a full booking system with unlimited staff.

Look elsewhere if: You’d rather your bill stayed the same in a busy month.

Sources: Timely pricing and Timely: manually send consultation forms, checked 24 October 2026.

When isn’t Covered Beauty the right choice?

  • You want drawn signatures or photos inside a form. Clients sign with a typed name.
  • You need consent wording already approved by your insurer. Our ready-made forms are starting points, though you can type your insurer’s wording into any form.
  • You need before-and-after photos or prescribing in the client record.
  • Your team is bigger than five.
  • You’re outside the UK. Covered Beauty is for UK businesses, with prices in pounds.

If none of those apply, it’s worth a free week. You don’t need a card to start, and nothing is charged unless you add one and carry on.

Questions about consultation form apps

What is the best consultation form app for a UK beauty business?

There isn’t one best consultation form app for every UK beauty business. It depends on whether you want forms on their own or inside a booking system, and whether you run a clinic. If you want clients to sign on their own phone before they arrive, with the signed form kept on their record, with or without a booking, Covered Beauty, which we make, does that for £9 a month. If you only need a few forms and don’t mind building them, Jotform, Typeform and Paperform have free plans. For aesthetics clinics, Faces is free and says it has over 200 insurance-verified consent forms, and Pabau is a full clinic system priced through a demo. Already on Fresha or Timely? Fresha has forms on both its plans, and Timely on its Boost and Thrive plans.

Is there a free consultation form app?

Yes, with limits. When we checked on 24 October 2026, Jotform’s free Starter plan allowed 5 active forms, 100 submissions and 10 signed documents a month, Paperform’s free plan 30 submissions and 3 signed documents a month, and Typeform had a free plan with a limited number of responses. Faces says it’s free to use, and Insync Consent is free on the App Store. Covered Beauty is free for a week with no card needed, then from £9 a month.

Can clients fill in a consultation form on their phone before the appointment?

Yes, with most of these. With Covered Beauty, the form goes out with the booking confirmation, with a reminder 48 hours before if it isn’t done. Or you send a private link by email, WhatsApp or text, with no booking needed, and it works for 14 days. Clients don’t need an app or an account. They tick to give their explicit consent and type their name to sign.

Are the ready-made consent forms in these apps approved by insurers?

Some apps say theirs are. Faces says its consent forms are insurance-verified, and Insync Consent, from Insync Insurance Solutions Ltd, describes its forms as insurer approved. Covered Beauty’s ready-made forms aren’t approved by an insurer. They’re starting points, so check them against what your insurer asks for, or type your insurer’s own wording into a form. Whichever app you use, check with your insurer that it covers your treatments.

Should consultation forms be kept with the client record?

It helps. When a client has a reaction or your insurer asks, you want the right form for the right visit straight away. BABTAC’s 2016 Good Practice Guide says to keep record cards for seven years, so check what your insurer asks for. Covered Beauty keeps signed forms for 7 years from the appointment, or from the day it was signed for a form filled in without a booking, while your account is open.

Is this comparison biased towards Covered Beauty?

We make Covered Beauty, so read it knowing that. We’ve said where another app suits a business better, written ‘Not stated’ wherever a provider’s own pages don’t say, and linked every other app’s details to the page they came from, with the day we read it.

Sources

Every other app’s page below was read on 24 October 2026. They’re their own words about their own products, not recommendations.

The seven years in the answer on keeping forms is from BABTAC Good Practice Guide 2016 (PDF), read 21 October 2026. It’s the trade body’s guidance for its members, not law.

What else should you read?

What to ask, treatment by treatment: nails, waxing and hair extensions.

Forms signed
before they arrive.

Pick a ready-made form. Send it to a client. See it land on their record.
No card needed for your free week. From £9/month afterwards, cancel any time.